FFX/SGA DC-10-30

Problems getting an aircraft to work? We can help.

Moderator: Moderating Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Samuel Arnold
Management
Posts: 1774
Joined: 14 May 2006, 10:17
Location: Picton, New Zealand
Contact:

FFX/SGA DC-10-30

Post by Samuel Arnold » 06 Sep 2006, 10:22

I am currently using the DC-10 and it requires at least 8,200 feet with 60% fuel in order to takeoff and does not respond well to pitch. I have hit the grass while landing, twice; overran the runway twice and lost several thousand feet while flying a bank.
What is wrong with this silly thing!

I want to know who else has flown the DC-10 by SGA/FFX and had this problem. Even those who have payware ones, I want to know how these things fly!
Also, some help please.
Image
|| Signature banner by Fraser Jeffery ||
Samuel Arnold | Virtual Airline Manager - ANA Virtual, Varig Virtual
samuel.arnold@simairline.net | AIM: SamArnold960

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Post by Northwestdc9 » 06 Sep 2006, 15:52

The NWA DC-10 doesn't do those things and I'm also using the SGA version. I think you must be really over weight. The DC-10 does use a lot of runway though.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

User avatar
deadman3108
Pilot
Posts: 801
Joined: 25 Oct 2005, 21:01
Location: Detroit MI
Contact:

Post by deadman3108 » 06 Sep 2006, 16:27

I've used it, and had the same problem. I was doing MSP-HNL once, and on takeoff, during climbout, I stalled and came crashing down. The pitch cannot be to high, other wise it will fall. Maybe adjust the weight. It might seem to help a bit :wink:
Image

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Post by Northwestdc9 » 06 Sep 2006, 17:04

The SGA DC-10 is usually over-weight when you load it so you'll need to remove the payload to a correct load.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

User avatar
Basje
Pilot
Posts: 420
Joined: 23 Jul 2005, 13:38
Location: Ostend, Belgium
Contact:

Post by Basje » 06 Sep 2006, 19:03

Northwestdc9 wrote:The SGA DC-10 is usually over-weight when you load it so you'll need to remove the payload to a correct load.


That was the problem with me too. I had to set the payload to almost 0kgs in order to remain under the MTOW.
Sebastien Devogele

Guest

Help plz

Post by Guest » 26 Oct 2006, 17:29

Northwestdc9 wrote:The SGA DC-10 is usually over-weight when you load it so you'll need to remove the payload to a correct load.


Does any one know what is wrong here?

User avatar
frogdude4993
Pilot
Posts: 1863
Joined: 18 Jul 2006, 18:39
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Post by frogdude4993 » 26 Oct 2006, 22:21

I had the same plane, problem, and solution.
Image

Yaroslav
Pilot
Posts: 949
Joined: 20 Sep 2005, 16:45
Location: Belgium, Brussels (EBBR)
Contact:

Post by Yaroslav » 04 Nov 2006, 01:38

Why not just put the correct weight in the aircraft.cfg?
"Avec l'avion, nous avons appris la ligne droite" - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Image
Thanks to Nick Anderson for the banner!

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Post by Anuj » 11 Nov 2006, 19:59

I have downloaded it but have had no problems. But even one kg above the MTOW, It'll kill ya takin off
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

User avatar
pepoaraujo101
Pilot
Posts: 182
Joined: 02 Feb 2006, 22:25
Location: São José dos Campos, SP - Brazil
Contact:

Post by pepoaraujo101 » 31 Jan 2007, 12:02

But even one kg above the MTOW, It'll kill ya takin off


Talking similarly, but in another aircraft; I had these weight issues while trying to fly the A330-200 from POSky...
Once, on a flight from Seattle (KSEA) to Tokyo Narita (RJAA), I have accidentally added more weight than the maximum permitted. Folks, it was the most dramatic takeoff I've ever seen! The plane couldn't climb 500 ft/min without stalling... even after jettisoning all fuel it woudn't go up!
My flight ended at a beach, some 10-15 nm off KSEA...

Post Reply