Trying FSX

For all non-SimAirline.net FS flying and add-on recommendations.

Moderator: Moderating Team

Post Reply
Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Trying FSX

Post by Anuj » 18 Jan 2010, 12:28

Hey Guys,

This is aimed at all those FSX users. I downloaded and tried the demo of FSX and I get about 60 FPS over open ocean and about 30 FPS at TNCM with Traffic cranked up to 100%. Aircraft was the default Baron 58. My FSX settings are as follows :

GRAPHICS :
Screen Res. : 1680x1050x32
Filtering : trilinear
Global Texture Resolution : Very High
Lens Flare : Checked
Light Bloom : Unchecked
Advanced Animations : Checked

AIRCRAFT :
Global Settings : Medium High

SCENERY :
Global Settings : Ultra High

WEATHER :
Global Settings : Medium High

So, Considering my system specs (in signature), with these results, is it time for me to move on to FSX ?

Thanks. :)
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by Anuj » 18 Jan 2010, 13:11

Correction

Scenery is high
Traffic is high
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by sanins192 » 18 Jan 2010, 14:42

Funnily enough I tried the FSX demo on Saturday to see how it would compare. I have a very similar system to you (E8400 @ 4GHz, 4GB PC2-8500 RAM, MSI 512MB 4870, Win 7 64-bit) but was not overly impressed by the performance. I did not take note of the FPS, but it was adequate enough to fly a whole flight under those conditions. I know that once I add REX, GEPro, PMDG, WOAI, Aerosoft LHR etc. it would have reduced the performance considerably.

I was not overly impressed by the visuals, as ground scenery was slightly blurry and not nice and sharp as the textures are in FS9. The only positives are that the water is a lot more realistic, and the plane reflections / shadows are a little better. However, I have FS9 set up nicely at the moment, locked to 38FPS (where it stays, even at LHR with full traffic, PMDG, REX etc.). I know that FSX could never compare with that, and I have far too many addons that would be wasted if I was to switch to FSX.
Image

NWADC9
Pilot
Posts: 5845
Joined: 11 Mar 2005, 23:27
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: Trying FSX

Post by NWADC9 » 18 Jan 2010, 14:56

Default FSX runs like a dream. Then add your crap, and that dream becomes a nightmare.
Image

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by RatherBFlyin » 18 Jan 2010, 15:37

I have not had any trouble with FSX, and it runs with the FPS in a very adequate range to stay smooth. If you decide to start using it, take the time to fiddle with your settings to get both them and the performance where you want them. My system is somewhat similar to yours, and I have been using FSX for over a year now with good results.

User avatar
G-BOAD
Pilot
Posts: 260
Joined: 01 Feb 2005, 22:46
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by G-BOAD » 18 Jan 2010, 16:44

In my experience the demo ran a lot faster than the actual product does. I had high hopes after trying the demo only to be let down upon installing the real thing.

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by Anuj » 18 Jan 2010, 17:07

My main concern as Alex said..... Impact on FSX with REX, ActiveSky, PMDG, Level-D, Captain Sim, Fsdreamteam, FlyTampa etc.....

If I won't be able to fly smoothly with all these... I see no point in moving on to FSX

But... I'm considering the switch because of the migration of good developers to FSX. :(

Thanks. :)
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by sanins192 » 18 Jan 2010, 17:17

It would be interesting to know what the split is between FS9 / FSX owners in the flightsim world. If there is going to be no further release of FS, then manufacturers have the choice of making FSX or FS9 addons. The people at REX still see enough interest in FS9 to develop addons for it, but PMDG seem to be heading more towards FSX-only releases. I am hoping that they release FS9 versions later on, after they find out that there is enough interest to develop / modify the FSX version to run on the older sim.
Image

User avatar
a.trailblazer7
Pilot
Posts: 268
Joined: 16 Aug 2009, 03:12
Location: Sanford, NC

Re: Trying FSX

Post by a.trailblazer7 » 19 Jan 2010, 22:38

RatherBFlyin wrote:I have not had any trouble with FSX, and it runs with the FPS in a very adequate range to stay smooth. If you decide to start using it, take the time to fiddle with your settings to get both them and the performance where you want them. My system is somewhat similar to yours, and I have been using FSX for over a year now with good results.
Tim, do you have all the addon's (i.e. REX, FsPassengers, extra scenery) all the toys someone that FS9 would have?
Image
Much thanks to Fraser J. for making a great banner!!

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by RatherBFlyin » 19 Jan 2010, 23:27

The only addons I have purchased for FSX are FSpax, ISG, and ASA. Everything else I have is freeware, including my scenery (I have even created a few AFCAD files for myself when I couldn't find any good ones online). I have my graphics settings at moderate levels, and no AI traffic since all of my flying is done online. I see 25-30FPS about 90% of the time, and I have it locked at 30 since I can't really tell a difference if it is higher than that.

I think the highest it has peaked for me was around 90FPS on a test flight with the FPS unlocked, but I don't see any point running it higher than 30.

flybywire22
Pilot
Posts: 221
Joined: 22 Aug 2008, 02:06
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by flybywire22 » 20 Jan 2010, 00:21

I've been saving up for the EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM lens from Canon, but once I saw that PMDG is making a 777 for FSX, maybe I'll build myself an FSX ready computer. I have about $1200 right now, only $400 away from the lens. But for $1200 I could build myself a damn good computer... :cry: I just wish PMDG would build the 777 for FS9 too.
Image

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by sanins192 » 20 Jan 2010, 01:06

flybywire22 wrote:I've been saving up for the EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM lens from Canon, but once I saw that PMDG is making a 777 for FSX, maybe I'll build myself an FSX ready computer. I have about $1200 right now, only $400 away from the lens. But for $1200 I could build myself a damn good computer... :cry: I just wish PMDG would build the 777 for FS9 too.
Although you could build yourself a great PC for that, and it'll run FS9 flawlessly, FSX will be a disappointment for the amount of money you spend on the system. I am running a 4GHz dual core processor, a quick video card (aging a little now) and 4GB RAM and I found FSX to be disappointing. You're better off going for the lens or building a PC for FS9.
Image

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by Anuj » 20 Jan 2010, 11:04

Thanks for the tips guys. I'll have to do some serious thinking about FSX.
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

User avatar
Carlo
Pilot
Posts: 1089
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 15:31
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Trying FSX

Post by Carlo » 21 Jan 2010, 04:08

Anuj wrote:Hey Guys,

This is aimed at all those FSX users. I downloaded and tried the demo of FSX and I get about 60 FPS over open ocean and about 30 FPS at TNCM with Traffic cranked up to 100%. Aircraft was the default Baron 58. My FSX settings are as follows :

GRAPHICS :
Screen Res. : 1680x1050x32
Filtering : trilinear
Global Texture Resolution : Very High
Lens Flare : Checked
Light Bloom : Unchecked
Advanced Animations : Checked

AIRCRAFT :
Global Settings : Medium High

SCENERY :
Global Settings : Ultra High

WEATHER :
Global Settings : Medium High

So, Considering my system specs (in signature), with these results, is it time for me to move on to FSX ?

Thanks. :)

This is what drives me mad:
My system is similar to yours, except I have an E8600 overclocked to 4Ghz, faster RAM and a 4870X2, yet I was not satisfied with how FSX used to run on my system. FPS were generally poor, averaging around 20, which is on the very low end of the scale for me, and for what I was expecting to get with this rig.

I switched back to FS9 a few months ago in despair, but now that I'm here, I quite like it. The only reason I would consider switching back to FSX, is because addon developers appear to be ditching FS9 altogether, unfortunately.

I'm considering making the switch back to nVidia though, as it's quite obvious from the myriad of youtube videos that MS prefer nVidia.

User avatar
alma343
Pilot
Posts: 649
Joined: 03 May 2008, 14:08

Re: Trying FSX

Post by alma343 » 21 Jan 2010, 11:54

flybywire22 wrote:I've been saving up for the EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM lens from Canon, but once I saw that PMDG is making a 777 for FSX, maybe I'll build myself an FSX ready computer. I have about $1200 right now, only $400 away from the lens. But for $1200 I could build myself a damn good computer... :cry: I just wish PMDG would build the 777 for FS9 too.
Shall we try an online petition?

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: Trying FSX

Post by Anuj » 21 Jan 2010, 15:20

alma343 wrote:
flybywire22 wrote:I've been saving up for the EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM lens from Canon, but once I saw that PMDG is making a 777 for FSX, maybe I'll build myself an FSX ready computer. I have about $1200 right now, only $400 away from the lens. But for $1200 I could build myself a damn good computer... :cry: I just wish PMDG would build the 777 for FS9 too.
Shall we try an online petition?
Believe me, it won't work !
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

Post Reply