10 steps for installing World of AI

We can help getting more planes in your sky.

Moderator: Moderating Team

Post Reply
Martin the Warrior
Pilot
Posts: 3139
Joined: 29 Jun 2005, 19:55
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by Martin the Warrior » 19 May 2008, 20:11

Thanks to Chris (NWADC9) for writing the steps
NWADC9 wrote:WORLD OF AI
1. Download installer
2. Unzip installer
3. Download packages
4. Run installer
5. Select packages (DO NOT UNZIP THEM)
6. Select FS version
7. Continue onward with the wizard
8. Wait
9. Don't touch anything without knowing what you're doing (don't add stuff to the aircraft such as textures and whatnot or screw around with the fps)
10. Fire up FS and find those planes!

If you follow these steps and still have problems, feel free to reply to this topic. :)
Image

User avatar
A.R.L.
Pilot
Posts: 9
Joined: 13 May 2008, 03:54

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by A.R.L. » 21 May 2008, 17:57

Actually, it's ok if you inzip the downloaded .ZIP, just don't unzip the .ZIP that's inside. That's the milk the in the coconut (or something :| )
-Capt. Alec Lindsey
ASA108
Local fan of Alaska Airlines! They be Alaskan, but they live in Seattle!

User avatar
jeremyjasper
Pilot
Posts: 19
Joined: 08 Jul 2008, 21:03

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by jeremyjasper » 12 Jul 2008, 23:00

where do you get the installer
Image
Swissair Pilot

NWADC9
Pilot
Posts: 5845
Joined: 11 Mar 2005, 23:27
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by NWADC9 » 13 Jul 2008, 02:10

Look for it on Avsim
Image

User avatar
alma343
Pilot
Posts: 649
Joined: 03 May 2008, 14:08

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by alma343 » 22 Jul 2008, 17:11

did he not write World of AI for Dummies?

NWADC9
Pilot
Posts: 5845
Joined: 11 Mar 2005, 23:27
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by NWADC9 » 22 Jul 2008, 18:37

alma343 wrote:did he not write World of AI for Dummies?

Huh? Who's "he"? And what's the referencing post? :?
Image

User avatar
alma343
Pilot
Posts: 649
Joined: 03 May 2008, 14:08

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by alma343 » 22 Jul 2008, 19:32

NWADC9 wrote:
alma343 wrote:did he not write World of AI for Dummies?

Huh? Who's "he"? And what's the referencing post? :?

sorry i meant NWADC9

NWADC9
Pilot
Posts: 5845
Joined: 11 Mar 2005, 23:27
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by NWADC9 » 23 Jul 2008, 00:16

alma343 wrote:
NWADC9 wrote:
alma343 wrote:did he not write World of AI for Dummies?

Huh? Who's "he"? And what's the referencing post? :?

sorry i meant NWADC9

So, me. Now what are you referencing? :|
Image

User avatar
shearder
Pilot
Posts: 15
Joined: 06 Apr 2009, 19:36
Location: Midrand, South Africa

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by shearder » 15 Apr 2009, 15:41

Ok this seems simple enough and IS!

However, When i install the packages, i.e woacawv1.zip (Comair - South Africa) it is fine. I go into FS9 and no AI in that livery. So i do it again and when it's done i go to expert mode and click on Airport Info i get a file not found (Traffic_229_WoA_South African Express Airways_Wi07.bgl). I do not see it having installed this anywhere even via a search through the entire system. Do i need to download these files somewhere?? If so; where?

Thanks in advance.

I am running FSX and FS9 in Vista Ultimate 64 bit - just in case someone needs to know.

[EDIT: to add]

Ok, i figured what was happening: It was correctly installing everything except BGL files. This it was dumping directly into C:\Scenery\World\Scenery.

Any ideas why?

Thanks in advance.
Core2 Quad 9550 2.83GHZ Processor
POV Nvidia GTX250 Graphics Card
5GB Ram
2180GB H/Drive space
FS9 and FSX installed

User avatar
Carlo
Pilot
Posts: 1089
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 15:31
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by Carlo » 15 Apr 2009, 21:38

You need to point the WoAI Wizard to your FSX directory.

I always do it manually (extract everything to desktop, then place the textures and traffic .bgls into their relevant locations)

Luis B
Pilot
Posts: 50
Joined: 13 Apr 2009, 00:13
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by Luis B » 16 Apr 2009, 03:28

about how many packages are there? downloaded a few so far, but mostly GA's, only one commercial i've found
Image
*Thanks to Fraser Jeffery (FJ Flyer) for the banner!*

User avatar
Carlo
Pilot
Posts: 1089
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 15:31
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by Carlo » 16 Apr 2009, 04:40

Seriously?? :?

I have 336 World of AI packages, 179 AIG flightplans and 72 custom and other flightplans for FSX.

159 AIG and 321 WoAI for FS9.


All you have to do is look on Avsim. There are new flightplans released almost daily

Luis B
Pilot
Posts: 50
Joined: 13 Apr 2009, 00:13
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by Luis B » 16 Apr 2009, 04:57

yeah at first i just searched all of avsim, just found the 1 commercial, then searched fsx ai and found like 5 but they're all under fs9, tons of them. just downloaded about a dozen, mostly just the bigger US companies. once i use the installer to install them I dont have to do anything else right? thought I would see them at the gates when I loaded up but just see the normal ones on fsx, like orbital and such
Image
*Thanks to Fraser Jeffery (FJ Flyer) for the banner!*

User avatar
Pierre Mare
Pilot
Posts: 208
Joined: 15 Nov 2007, 08:26
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by Pierre Mare » 16 Apr 2009, 10:34

Luis.

Go to http://www.world-of-ai.com/index.php

This will help. I'm sure.
Keep flyin', be free :P

Image

User avatar
Carlo
Pilot
Posts: 1089
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 15:31
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: 10 steps for installing World of AI

Post by Carlo » 16 Apr 2009, 20:09

The WoAI packages aren't sim specific, so search for FS9 flightplans (there aren't many FSX specific ones actually)

Post Reply