New Menu Testing

General discussion about SimAirline.net and its airlines.

Moderator: Moderating Team

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by sanins192 » 26 Apr 2008, 20:04

I would prefer to see it only cover half the width of the page, as it is doing now. Spaced out would just look odd.

Aaron, do we have to use that font to tie in with the rest of the site, or can we change it to a more modern one?

I know of a few that would work well, or am I right in thinking the user has to have that font installed or else they won't see it?

Am I right in thinking that the banner has been changed?
Image

User avatar
preetham
Pilot
Posts: 60
Joined: 21 Mar 2008, 21:12
Location: Bangalore, INdia
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by preetham » 26 Apr 2008, 20:09

Wow its nice , but some thing is missing.
Image
Thanks to Nick Anderson for the fantastic banner!

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by sanins192 » 26 Apr 2008, 20:10

Which is...
Image

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by FJ flyer » 26 Apr 2008, 21:28

The shadow of grey looks better than before, it looks heaps better than the original version. I think we need to keep the site up to date and this will do it well.

There's something about the blend of the picture that I don't like though-not sure what...
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by Northwestdc9 » 27 Apr 2008, 04:08

The banner has indeed been changed, looks pretty good to me actually.

The menu... it's the same just bigger.
-Better spacing needed.
-Some kind of separation! Be it a line or anything, just something.
-Not crazy about the font but we're limited to the defaults or it won't show correctly.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

seahawks7757
Pilot
Posts: 4352
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 04:57
Location: Puyallup, WA AKA KSEA
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by seahawks7757 » 27 Apr 2008, 04:08

That looks even cooler then the first one you showed us.
Image
Click on the banner above to get to my Flickr Account!

User avatar
preetham
Pilot
Posts: 60
Joined: 21 Mar 2008, 21:12
Location: Bangalore, INdia
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by preetham » 27 Apr 2008, 05:17

Is it possible to change it to aero style with the same color , I mean which looks like this http://home.live.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Image
Thanks to Nick Anderson for the fantastic banner!

User avatar
DeanClay
Pilot
Posts: 821
Joined: 09 Aug 2007, 23:21
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by DeanClay » 27 Apr 2008, 11:32

Looks great!
However in my browser, it looks a bit off centre (to the left) Is it just me?
Image
By Me =]

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by sanins192 » 27 Apr 2008, 11:36

How hard is it to make an image to use as a button? That way we can add gradient and shadow to any text of our choice.
Image

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by Northwestdc9 » 27 Apr 2008, 17:31

It's not hard but doing the text makes changing it painful.

Just put some lines in between the text and let's see what that looks like.

@Preetham... Nah. It's pretty easy to do but it looks corny and wouldn't even come close to matching the rest of the page, we'd have to Aquafy (Vista stole it from Apple) the entire site and that's not happening. Remember Aaron doesn't like flashy.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

Martin the Warrior
Pilot
Posts: 3139
Joined: 29 Jun 2005, 19:55
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by Martin the Warrior » 27 Apr 2008, 17:52

When did Anuj last say anything? :?
Do you mean Preetham?
Image

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by Northwestdc9 » 27 Apr 2008, 18:02

Martin the Warrior wrote:When did Anuj last say anything? :?
Do you mean Preetham?
Whoops, same avatar. My bad.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

User avatar
Aaron Robinson
Administrator
Posts: 3747
Joined: 07 Jan 2005, 18:14
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by Aaron Robinson » 28 Apr 2008, 00:21

sanins192 wrote:I know of a few that would work well, or am I right in thinking the user has to have that font installed or else they won't see it?
This is correct. There are only a handful of fonts that can be chosen from--Verdana is currently the preference. In its absence, Arial (the old font) is used.
Northwestdc9 wrote:Just put some lines in between the text and let's see what that looks like.
Request made! I wanted to do this originally, but couldn't figure out how to make it work well with the existing border.

More feedback, please! I feel that we're very close to a final product that we would roll out across the site.
Aaron Robinson | Managing Director and Owner
aaron.robinson@simairline.net | AIM: SimAirlineNet
Read the latest SimAirline.net news and updates at Viewpoint
SimAirline.net on Facebook and LinkedIn

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by Northwestdc9 » 28 Apr 2008, 03:22

Now we're talking!! Me like!! Still hanging a few pixels off the page for me though.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by FJ flyer » 28 Apr 2008, 03:31

That's better than before. Adds a little bit of oopmh to it. :lol:
Can you try having the line only around the buttons instead of all the way to the right?
Also it looks a bit weird how when you select one of the main menu buttons, the line between the drop down menu and the main menu is thinker than usual. Is there a way to fix that?
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

Martin the Warrior
Pilot
Posts: 3139
Joined: 29 Jun 2005, 19:55
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by Martin the Warrior » 28 Apr 2008, 08:22

Ok, it's pretty good now.
Image

User avatar
capewellavc
Pilot
Posts: 2245
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 12:44
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by capewellavc » 28 Apr 2008, 14:32

:oops:

I liked it without the lines...
Image

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by Anuj » 28 Apr 2008, 14:39

OOoo, I like the new one alot. :)
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by sanins192 » 28 Apr 2008, 16:14

To be honest I preffered it without the lines, as now it looks the same as before. However, it is a better improvement and I would like to see this across the entire site.

Would it be possible to add a button that would link you back to the SimAirline.net homepage? At the moment the only way to go back there is to re-enter the site.

Would it be possible to change the background for each page so that it has a colour gradient on it, like this: http://www.airliners.net/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Also, could that same idea be applied to the background on the buttons?
Image

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: New Menu Testing

Post by FJ flyer » 28 Apr 2008, 21:18

Alex, if you click on the "SimAirline.net" Button on the menu bar it will take you back to the homepage. :winking:
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

Locked