AFCADs

Having issues installing add-on scenery?

Moderator: Moderating Team

Post Reply
Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

AFCADs

Post by Anuj » 02 Nov 2008, 12:32

Hey Guys,

I need someone to help me make an AFCAD. A person who can create taxiways, runways etc..

Thanks. :)
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

User avatar
alma343
Pilot
Posts: 649
Joined: 03 May 2008, 14:08

Re: AFCADs

Post by alma343 » 02 Nov 2008, 14:19

if you use aFCAD 2.21 i could help you

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by Anuj » 02 Nov 2008, 15:00

Are you good at making taxiways, ILS hold short nodes etc.. ?
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

User avatar
COA413
Pilot
Posts: 2362
Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 00:40
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by COA413 » 02 Nov 2008, 16:10

I've played around with AFCAD a couple of times. I could help you out.

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by Northwestdc9 » 03 Nov 2008, 03:15

Depends on what you need Anuj, I'm probably the master of AFCAD around here but time is limited.

What exactly is it that you want to do?
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: AFCADs

Post by FJ flyer » 03 Nov 2008, 06:58

I've edited a couple of airports that have had upgrades and other things.

I could help you out.
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

User avatar
alma343
Pilot
Posts: 649
Joined: 03 May 2008, 14:08

Re: AFCADs

Post by alma343 » 03 Nov 2008, 08:26

I'm maybe not so good as you Guys because I've started two Weeks ago :oops:

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by Anuj » 03 Nov 2008, 10:50

Actually I'm making Delhi's (VIDP) new runway(29/11). I got the airport diagram with the taxiways for it from a pilot. So, i need help making the taxiways of that runway. I've already made the runway

BTW, for FRF's VIDP only.
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

User avatar
alma343
Pilot
Posts: 649
Joined: 03 May 2008, 14:08

Re: AFCADs

Post by alma343 » 03 Nov 2008, 16:21

what is then your Problem with Taxiways

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by Anuj » 03 Nov 2008, 18:13

Well, I tried and finished the taxiways without any help. Here is a screenshot :

http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o52/ ... el2911.png

Although, I am getting a few problems.

First of all, How do I name the taxiways and put taxiway signs beside them ?

And Second, aircrafts always taxi at a height of 2-3 feet over the ground like this :

http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o52/ ... roblem.png

Thanks. :D
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

User avatar
COA413
Pilot
Posts: 2362
Joined: 10 Mar 2006, 00:40
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by COA413 » 03 Nov 2008, 18:18

I'm not sure about the problem regarding the taxiway signs, but for the second problem it looks like that the elevation of the taxiways and runway needs to be raised. Just a couple feet. Try looking at the other taxiways to get an idea of what it should be.

FJ flyer
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2415
Joined: 05 Feb 2007, 23:44
Location: Christchurch New Zealand

Re: AFCADs

Post by FJ flyer » 03 Nov 2008, 19:46

I don't think you can put Taxiways signs in the AFCAD editor you've got...
Image
Enigma Simulations | Texture Artist and Aircraft Designer
Click my banner to see my paints via Avsim.

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by Northwestdc9 » 04 Nov 2008, 00:47

You can't, that's a scenery file that you have to create separately.

The second problem is fixed by making a flatten file and you'll probably want an exclude file at the same time. (trees and such around that get in the way)

Both are a major pain in the rear requiring, IIRC, it's been a while since I had to do it, at least 3 different hard to use and hard to find programs.

My best advice is searching around the net for a guide to creating an exclude file and a flatten BGL.

I wish you the very best of luck, I spent DAYS doing it for my private airports a couple years ago.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by Anuj » 04 Nov 2008, 10:38

Thanks everybody.

But Nick, why would I want to create a flatten file. The elevation is 747.7 feet all over the airport and how would trees help ??

Thanks. :D
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Re: AFCADs

Post by Northwestdc9 » 06 Nov 2008, 00:11

You might think it's flat but it's probably not.... that's what I find with FS anyway.

Flatten is the problem, almost guaranteed.
Exclude is to get rid of any default stuff laying around like trees, houses, etc that are in the way of your addition.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

Post Reply