Computer Crash

Read about and discuss the latest changes to the Message Boards.

Moderator: Moderating Team

User avatar
Aaron Robinson
Administrator
Posts: 3747
Joined: 07 Jan 2005, 18:14
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Computer Crash

Post by Aaron Robinson » 03 Dec 2007, 20:53

My computer crashed last night (motherboard failed), so I have decided to purchase a new computer today. It will obviously take some time to restore full functionality, so I ask for your patience over the next few weeks as I get back up to speed. Obviously the transition will be slower due to also learning a new operating system (Vista). An announcement will be made on the site hopefully in the next day or so.
Aaron Robinson | Managing Director and Owner
aaron.robinson@simairline.net | AIM: SimAirlineNet
Read the latest SimAirline.net news and updates at Viewpoint
SimAirline.net on Facebook and LinkedIn

User avatar
Terry Healy
Pilot
Posts: 222
Joined: 26 Nov 2007, 11:30
Location: London, England

Post by Terry Healy » 03 Dec 2007, 20:58

Good luck with your new PC Aaron, I hate it when my kit explodes :(
292

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Post by sanins192 » 03 Dec 2007, 21:00

Tough luck Aaron. At least it wasn't a HDD failure like I had a few months back! (touchwood)

Good luck with your new computer.
Image

seahawks7757
Pilot
Posts: 4352
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 04:57
Location: Puyallup, WA AKA KSEA
Contact:

Post by seahawks7757 » 03 Dec 2007, 21:01

Good Luck to you Aaron. If you need a tempoary fill in to check over PIREPS pm me and I can fill in for you
Image
Click on the banner above to get to my Flickr Account!

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Post by Northwestdc9 » 03 Dec 2007, 21:04

seahawks7757 wrote:Good Luck to you Aaron. If you need a tempoary fill in to check over PIREPS pm me and I can fill in for you
LOL!!!! He won't even let the most senior management near the roster system! :shock:

Yikes!! Vista????? Oh boy....
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

seahawks7757
Pilot
Posts: 4352
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 04:57
Location: Puyallup, WA AKA KSEA
Contact:

Post by seahawks7757 » 03 Dec 2007, 21:05

I have no idea. As I'm not on management right now.
Image
Click on the banner above to get to my Flickr Account!

NWADC9
Pilot
Posts: 5845
Joined: 11 Mar 2005, 23:27
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by NWADC9 » 03 Dec 2007, 21:12

My condolences to the loss of your computer and the unfortunate forced switch to Windows POC (Vista)...
Image

User avatar
madisonlover101
Pilot
Posts: 596
Joined: 17 Jan 2007, 23:54
Location: LA
Contact:

Post by madisonlover101 » 03 Dec 2007, 23:37

seahawks7757 wrote:Good Luck to you Aaron. If you need a tempoary fill in to check over PIREPS pm me and I can fill in for you


HAHAHAHHAAHAHA! That made for a good laugh! :D Anyhow, best of luck with your new computer Aaron! :)
Image

User avatar
ninerninerniner
Pilot
Posts: 1080
Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 01:27
Location: LA
Contact:

Post by ninerninerniner » 04 Dec 2007, 01:55

Good luck Aaron :D (Do you really need to upgrade to Vista :wink: )

User avatar
Dennis
Management/Moderator
Posts: 2861
Joined: 03 Jan 2007, 16:40
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Contact:

Post by Dennis » 04 Dec 2007, 02:30

I don't think computers come with XP anymore. At least, all I've seen are sold with Vista. You'd have to buy XP separately.

Anyways, good luck
Image
^^Courtesy of Fraser Jeffery. To SimAirline.net. It's been a blast!^^
*Click on the banner for the latest on Viewpoint, the official SimAirline.net blog*

User avatar
madisonlover101
Pilot
Posts: 596
Joined: 17 Jan 2007, 23:54
Location: LA
Contact:

Post by madisonlover101 » 04 Dec 2007, 02:39

Dennis wrote:I don't think computers come with XP anymore. At least, all I've seen are sold with Vista. You'd have to buy XP separately.


Yeah that is what Taka is saying at least that's how I interpreted it. Yeah he can just make a dual-boot drive.
Image

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Post by Northwestdc9 » 04 Dec 2007, 03:12

Depending on the company you buy the machine from, XP is an option. I know Dell is offering XP.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

User avatar
capewellavc
Pilot
Posts: 2245
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 12:44
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by capewellavc » 04 Dec 2007, 04:59

Vista on a decent PC is such an improvement. I have been using it for 5 odd months now and I havn't had a single problem. I wish XP was that reliable. I would use an apple mac over XP now...
Image

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Post by Northwestdc9 » 04 Dec 2007, 05:03

Not what I've been hearing from several friends using it, so far it's been a disaster.

Let's put it this way, I'll die before I use that Vista POS.

Ok, back on topic.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

seahawks7757
Pilot
Posts: 4352
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 04:57
Location: Puyallup, WA AKA KSEA
Contact:

Post by seahawks7757 » 04 Dec 2007, 06:04

well i wont get Vista until I'm guaranteed that all my XP games will work on the dam thing. I had Vista but downgraded because I actually wanted to be able to play some of my games. But I loved Vista minus the game issue.
Image
Click on the banner above to get to my Flickr Account!

User avatar
Aaron Robinson
Administrator
Posts: 3747
Joined: 07 Jan 2005, 18:14
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Post by Aaron Robinson » 04 Dec 2007, 06:33

Update: Internet now works. No data should have been lost, but I have yet to confirm that.

Tentative Timetable
-Tuesday: very little, I'm away all day
-Wednesday: set the computer up to my personal preferences
-Thursday: restore files and applications
-Friday: start catching up on work
-Monday: goal to be caught up on short-term projects
Aaron Robinson | Managing Director and Owner
aaron.robinson@simairline.net | AIM: SimAirlineNet
Read the latest SimAirline.net news and updates at Viewpoint
SimAirline.net on Facebook and LinkedIn

User avatar
madisonlover101
Pilot
Posts: 596
Joined: 17 Jan 2007, 23:54
Location: LA
Contact:

Post by madisonlover101 » 04 Dec 2007, 06:59

Aaron Robinson wrote:Update: Internet now works. No data should have been lost, but I have yet to confirm that.

Tentative Timetable
-Tuesday: very little, I'm away all day
-Wednesday: set the computer up to my personal preferences
-Thursday: restore files and applications
-Friday: start catching up on work
-Monday: goal to be caught up on short-term projects


Sounds very productive! I'm sure you won't, but don't stress yourself out too much on getting caught up. I'm sure everyone here understands! Just whenever you can get caught up, ok? :)
Image

seahawks7757
Pilot
Posts: 4352
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 04:57
Location: Puyallup, WA AKA KSEA
Contact:

Post by seahawks7757 » 04 Dec 2007, 07:01

Hey will I be getting that annoying email thats say I haven't filed in a month so I lose my Pilot ID? Just wondering because I hate that email
Image
Click on the banner above to get to my Flickr Account!

NWADC9
Pilot
Posts: 5845
Joined: 11 Mar 2005, 23:27
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by NWADC9 » 04 Dec 2007, 07:17

Fire up the sim and fly from Comox-Campbell River (or the other way around) with Air Canada Virtual on a B1900D. No heading changes required, and it's so quick, it's just up and down!
Image

Ali Abou-Zeid
Administrator
Posts: 1739
Joined: 07 Jan 2005, 17:29
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Contact:

Post by Ali Abou-Zeid » 04 Dec 2007, 08:11

Northwestdc9 wrote:
seahawks7757 wrote:Good Luck to you Aaron. If you need a tempoary fill in to check over PIREPS pm me and I can fill in for you
LOL!!!! He won't even let the most senior management near the roster system! :shock:


ha ha ha!!!

Not even me! Except for testing purposes! :rolling:
Image
What centreline???

Post Reply