aircraft.cfg

Problems getting an aircraft to work? We can help.

Moderator: Moderating Team

Post Reply
User avatar
cpt nick
Pilot
Posts: 568
Joined: 25 May 2008, 22:16
Location: Barnsley,England
Contact:

aircraft.cfg

Post by cpt nick » 28 Jun 2008, 18:28

i downloaded a repaint but for it to work i have to put the technical 'info' so FS knows what it is, in a file called 'aircraft.cfg' where is this file and where do i put the information?
Image
Image
^My Simairline.net statistics^
high flyin' Banner by Nick Anderson
www.youtube.com/user/speedbird125
Find me on Facebook and Bebo.

Anuj
Pilot
Posts: 1490
Joined: 09 Nov 2006, 17:53
Location: New Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: aircraft.cfg

Post by Anuj » 28 Jun 2008, 18:39

You will find the Aircraft.cfg in the Aircraft's folder. Open it with Notepad. You should have got a [Fltsim.XX] entry with your repaint to put in the Aircraft.cfg. Just replace XX with the number in the sequence. For Example, if your previous entry was [Fltsim.0], then the XX replacement for this entry would be 1.
SAVE INDIA'S TIGERS!!
www.saveourtigers.com
My PC : Asus P5Q Motherboard | Intel C2D E8400 3GHz | 3GB OCZ DDR2 RAM | MSI ATi 4850 1GB OC Edition | 250GB SATA | Windows XP Pro SP3 | FS2004 |

classass
Pilot
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 10:30

Re: aircraft.cfg

Post by classass » 31 Aug 2009, 10:33

I have done this but when I go to save the file i says that it cannot create the file and to make sure the path and file names are correct. Any suggestions....? Thanks in advance

Marlin
Pilot
Posts: 35
Joined: 04 Feb 2005, 20:58
Location: Sarasota, FL

Re: aircraft.cfg

Post by Marlin » 31 Aug 2009, 11:04

Try moving the file to the desktop and make the changes there. Then move the file back to your aircraft folder. That is how I have to do it with Vista.

RatherBFlyin
Moderator
Posts: 3086
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 06:52
Location: Apex, NC
Contact:

Re: aircraft.cfg

Post by RatherBFlyin » 31 Aug 2009, 14:29

If you are using Vista, and you get the message that you cannot save the file in that location, you need to adjust the user permissions (assuming you have administrator access on your computer).

Right-click on the aircraft folder in Windows Explorer, then select Options. Click on the Security tab, then click on Edit. Select the appropriate group or user from the list, then make sure the Allow permissions are all checked. Once you do that, you should have no trouble saving the edited config file.

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Re: aircraft.cfg

Post by sanins192 » 03 Sep 2009, 21:37

Yeah, I had that issue with Vista but just turned off User Account Control, or whatever it is called.
Image

Post Reply