Where can I get realitstic sounding ATC?

For all non-SimAirline.net FS flying and add-on recommendations.

Moderator: Moderating Team

777er

Where can I get realitstic sounding ATC?

Post by 777er » 21 Sep 2007, 12:10

I am bored of the robotic default ATC with those monotone sounds. Where can I get some English Accent ?

User avatar
CaseyD
Pilot
Posts: 9159
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 21:42
Location: Melbourne Beach FL
Contact:

Post by CaseyD » 21 Sep 2007, 13:47

VATSIM.
Image
^Special thanks to Dean Clay for the excellent banner.^

User avatar
Junk_Rick224
Pilot
Posts: 782
Joined: 11 Jul 2006, 19:59
Location: Miramar, FL
Contact:

Post by Junk_Rick224 » 21 Sep 2007, 16:49

VATSIM, VATSIM, VATSIM.
"Whatever the mind of man can conceive, it can achieve." -W. Clement Stone

Image
Banner courtesy of Nick Anderson.

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Post by sanins192 » 21 Sep 2007, 18:16

Does every ATC in the world speak English?
Image

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Post by Northwestdc9 » 21 Sep 2007, 18:31

sanins192 wrote:Does every ATC in the world speak English?
Yes, english is the language of aviation world wide.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Post by sanins192 » 21 Sep 2007, 18:36

So do non-english speaking pilots only have to learn key phrases or do they need a qualification in English?
Image

Northwestdc9
Management/Moderator
Posts: 9866
Joined: 10 Jan 2005, 03:32
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Post by Northwestdc9 » 21 Sep 2007, 18:40

sanins192 wrote:So do non-english speaking pilots only have to learn key phrases or do they need a qualification in English?
I'm not sure about that but I'd guess they need to learn english.
Image
Aviation Research Engineer - University of Iowa

User avatar
detpilot
Moderator
Posts: 3636
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 08:16
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Contact:

Post by detpilot » 21 Sep 2007, 19:16

Every ATC controller is required to be able to communicate all required messages in english, but it is not uncommon for say, brazilian controllers to speak spanish or portugese to local planes. Basically, if you know the local language, use it for your first transmission, and if you don't, then use english.

In other words, worldwide ATC controllers are required to be able to use english. Things can get confusing when, say, an Emirates flight goes to South America, and neither the pilot nor the controller speak fluent english, but they do well enough to get by.

This does cause safety issues, and there have been accidents because of it before.
Image
**Professional Banner Courtesy of Nick Anderson**
FAA Certified Commercial Pilot/ Flight Instructor
ASEL/AMEL/IFR

Yaroslav
Pilot
Posts: 949
Joined: 20 Sep 2005, 16:45
Location: Belgium, Brussels (EBBR)
Contact:

Post by Yaroslav » 21 Sep 2007, 19:26

What about English, French, Spanish, Russian, Arabic and Chinese being the 6 official ICAO languages?
"Avec l'avion, nous avons appris la ligne droite" - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Image
Thanks to Nick Anderson for the banner!

User avatar
detpilot
Moderator
Posts: 3636
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 08:16
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Contact:

Post by detpilot » 21 Sep 2007, 19:38

Image
**Professional Banner Courtesy of Nick Anderson**
FAA Certified Commercial Pilot/ Flight Instructor
ASEL/AMEL/IFR

777er

Post by 777er » 22 Sep 2007, 17:36

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6Gkpxz_2ts

see the above video. now please tell me from where he got that ATC from, they speak differently.

How to fly on VATSIM, i dontknow, do i have to speak on the mic also...

do they have controller for all airports then? pls tellme how to fly on VASTIM.... pls ..does it reduce frame-rate , whats the internet speed i need and any programs to download.

NWADC9
Pilot
Posts: 5845
Joined: 11 Mar 2005, 23:27
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by NWADC9 » 22 Sep 2007, 18:12

777er wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6Gkpxz_2ts

see the above video. now please tell me from where he got that ATC from, they speak differently.

A recording of real ATC from Kai Tak

The description in the youtube video wrote:With ORGINAL Kai Tak ATC
Image

seahawks7757
Pilot
Posts: 4352
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 04:57
Location: Puyallup, WA AKA KSEA
Contact:

Post by seahawks7757 » 23 Sep 2007, 00:46

awesome video
Image
Click on the banner above to get to my Flickr Account!

User avatar
THA346
Pilot
Posts: 1111
Joined: 24 Mar 2007, 01:03

Post by THA346 » 23 Sep 2007, 03:00

777er wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6Gkpxz_2ts

see the above video. now please tell me from where he got that ATC from, they speak differently.

How to fly on VATSIM, i dontknow, do i have to speak on the mic also...

do they have controller for all airports then? pls tellme how to fly on VASTIM.... pls ..does it reduce frame-rate , whats the internet speed i need and any programs to download.


It doesn't reduce FPS, but you have to get Squawkbox first and then talk on the microphone. If you wat someaid about using VATSIM, I can help you, I can even control TWR in VVTS.
Yvan Ung
VVTS FIR controller (VATSIM) - ongoing transfer to ZSHA FIR
Image
155 AVSIM uploads, 60,000+ downloads

777er

Post by 777er » 23 Sep 2007, 11:04

THA346 wrote:It doesn't reduce FPS, but you have to get Squawkbox first and then talk on the microphone. If you wat someaid about using VATSIM, I can help you, I can even control TWR in VVTS.


Yes please help me how to get started with VATSIM, from where can I get squakbox. I cant speak the ATC terminology well, butI have been usingthe FS2004 ATC and i understand all the instructions well.

Glenn H
Pilot
Posts: 125
Joined: 09 Jan 2005, 12:22
Location: London, U.K
Contact:

Post by Glenn H » 23 Sep 2007, 14:15

http://www.vatsim.net/prc/

This is the place to go if you want to fly on VATSIM, some required reading to do preferably before you make your first flight. Be prepared tho, the learning curve is steep and it is nothing like the default atc in the simulator. Have you heard of Radar Contact? http://www.jdtllc.com/
This replaces the default atc and is much more realistic.
If you want to fly online then i suggest you spend some time sitting at a airport, at the gate in a aeroplane and listen to the controllers and pilots talking so that you can get a feel for things and the ways things are done and said on VATSIM.

Hope this helps

Glenn

777er

Post by 777er » 23 Sep 2007, 15:51

Glenn H wrote:http://www.vatsim.net/prc/

Have you heard of Radar Contact? http://www.jdtllc.com/
This replaces the default atc and is much more realistic.
Glenn

I checked it out, but it is payware. there is a program that replaces the default ATC wid some realisting sounding voices. I have seen it somewhere, I dont know where, I cant even find it.

User avatar
CX888
Pilot
Posts: 317
Joined: 04 Jul 2007, 04:26
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand (NZCH)

Post by CX888 » 23 Sep 2007, 22:56

sanins192 wrote:So do non-english speaking pilots only have to learn key phrases or do they need a qualification in English?


They need to score at least 6 on the IELTS (International English Language Testing System), which incidentally is hard for a person that is of a non-English speaking culture and is born and living in a non-English speaking country, which means, the non-english speaking pilots need to be REALLY good at English

Which means if ur in a non-english speaking country, u need 2 b able 2 speak english very well 2 b able 2 become a pilot
Image
^^^Information correct at time of making, future accuracy NOT guarenteed

sanins192
Management/Moderator
Posts: 7673
Joined: 26 Apr 2007, 21:08
Location: Warwick, England
Contact:

Post by sanins192 » 23 Sep 2007, 22:59

Hopefully not substituting 2 for to. :lol:
Image

Martin the Warrior
Pilot
Posts: 3139
Joined: 29 Jun 2005, 19:55
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Post by Martin the Warrior » 24 Sep 2007, 18:27

777er wrote:
Glenn H wrote:http://www.vatsim.net/prc/

Have you heard of Radar Contact? http://www.jdtllc.com/
This replaces the default atc and is much more realistic.
Glenn

I checked it out, but it is payware. there is a program that replaces the default ATC wid some realisting sounding voices. I have seen it somewhere, I dont know where, I cant even find it.

Yeah, editvoicepack modifies the default ATC. I've mostly just used it to add callsigns, but feel free to mess around with it.
Image

Post Reply